Patient Reviews

Reviews for Clear Lake Dermatology

For the convenience of our patients, we have two offices in the Greater Houston area. Known for our excellent services and caring staff, we provide a wide range of dermatological services, cosmetic procedures, and skin cancer diagnosis and treatments. With our team of board-certified dermatologists, skilled medical aestheticians, and a doctor who specializes in Mohs surgery, you'll feel like part of our family. We encourage you to read through the current and former patient reviews below. From treatments for medical conditions and cosmetic issues to acute and chronic skin problems, our team hopes these stories help you decide to schedule an appointment at Clear Lake Dermatology in Webster or Clear Lake, TX.

Filter17 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Fighting Wrinkles - Wrinkles are helped with filler as well as Dysport and the combination works well. I am always pleased with the results. There are other treatments that I have had in the past that have been helpful as well. I recently had microneedling which seems to have worked well; it was much easier to tolerate than Ultherapy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Ultherapy - I am 50 and trying to slow down Father time. Want to stay as young looking as long as possible. Sculptura a couple of years ago and now trying ultherapy. Eager to see results in 3 months. Dr Joe gave me a nerve block and while having it is slightly uncomfortable to have the block, It is my understanding that it made the ultherapy much easier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Wanted Coolsculpting - Tired of working out and the diet thing with obvious areas still bugging me. Cool sculpting is painless and hopefully I will get the results I want. My abdomen shows no improvement over the years. A tummy tuck 20 years ago, I still had zero contour in my stomach region. Wanted some definition. Should see results in two months. I will continue with my exercise and diet. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

44 Years Old. Unhappy with Eyelids and Frown Lines - Houston, TX - So far I am very happy, anxious to see the outcome in 2 weeks! Very little pain at the injections, she took time to make sure the area was numb and I got the most for my money. Would recommend to all of my friends. Friendly staff. In time with my appointment. Addressed my concerns and helped me relax. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

45 Yrs Old, 4 Kids and Needed Much Better Looking Skin - Webster, TX - It has been a great experience in this office and getting service... Love the fact they take their time during consultation and the process is very pleasant. i needed a smoother skin around my eyes and have tried Dysport & loved it. I will defintaely return and try additional services at this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Wow Great Chemical Peel - Met with Rachelle for chemical peel. She was great, knowledgeable, and professional. She did a great job. I would do it again for sure. I’m very happy with my results. Can’t wait until my next one. I have had some other treatment thru Rachelle too. Each one has gone smoothly with really good results. In each case she was very knowledgeable about what we were doing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Lip Fillers - I finally worked up the courage to get Restylane fillers for the first time and it was so worth it! The front desk staff were so nice and accommodating and I didn't have to wait long at all to get seen. Jennifer did my procedure and she made me feel so calm and comfortable and talked me through the entire process. I will definitely be going back! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Botox & Filler - The Clear Lake Dermatology office in Webster is easy to make an appointment. The staff are friendly and informative on the products they use and updated to the latest techniques. I have gone to Jennifer for the last 2 years for botox and fillers to smooth out my fine lines and fill in my deeper wrinkles. The results take a few years off your appearance. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Oily Acne Proned Skin - I was suffering from severe acne and oily skin. Rachel was very professional and knowledgeable about the procedure. After about 6 months of doing a peel monthly, I noticed a huge improvement in my skin. This procedure is extremely worth it. I have posted a before and after picture to show the improvement in my skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2018

Getting Older but Not Wanting to Look It - Had a good 1st round and then decided just needed 1 more round and will wait to see the finished results. So far I like them. Dr. Joe answered my questions and didn't seem to mind all the questions I had. He's very patient and caring about your results and will make you look natural and not stiff looking. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2015

Mommy & Wife Needing a Much Needed "Me Treatment" to Help Me Look the Way I Feel & Not the Age my Face Says I Am. - Webster, TX - I was VERY impressed with Dr.Joe and his staff. He was very knowledgable about all aspects of medical and cosmetic procedures. I decided to go with Sculptra after a lot of research on fillers and botox. Knowing that in the end sculptra, even though more expensive than traditional fillers was going to last a lot longer and help boost my own collagen made me comfortable in saving money over a period of time to give me lasting results as opposed to a quick fix with fillers. The staff also explained to me they accept Care Credit which I had never been offered as a form of payment (Its nice to know all your options).His bed side manner was outstanding and the girls in the office having procedures done on themselves as well made me feel at ease them being able to give me their own personal experiences as I was very nervous before the procedure. Everyone was so nice and sincere. It helped making my decision on who I wanted to go to knowing the Doctor in their office performed all injectables as opposed to a nurse or aesthician. They couldn't have done a thing different in my opinion!! Would recommend this practice to anyone wanting to have a medical or cosmetic procedure done in a heartbeat!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2014

If You Are Scheduled or Considering Coolsculpting, a Bit of Experience - I've had liposuction many years ago with a breast reduction but decided this time to try Coolsculpting because of not being invasive and no downtime, FDA accepted and I could even drive myself. I'm also an RN. If you're having some anxiety....I had both love handles down first. The only thing that got me was when she put the first one on, I was expecting a slow squeezing and it clamped down fast and hard lol so I kind of winced. But as stated elsewhere, within a couple of minutes it was fine. The other side wasn't as bad since I knew what to expect. Take a deep breath and let it out slowly during this process may help. Strangely the larger abdomen wasn't bad at all. Afterwards there was some redness, of course cold, and some bruising in the love handle areas. The esthetician massages all these areas after the treatment to break up the 'frozen' areas back down, although there will probably be some swelling and slight tenderness to the skin post procedure for a while. You may want to take something over the counter for pain before hand. Afterwards, I took some aleve and went and had a nice dinner before driving home. I knew from reviews to expect some discomfort around 5-7 days post treatment. I did have something sort of like menstrual or gas cramps for a few days around that time. The technician did say to call in if I needed the doctor to call in something stronger but I did not, I just took aleve. I'm now a month post treatment and going to get my second set of treatments next week. I also started wearing a firm compression garment as I did after my liposuction as I think it will help with the shaping. Women are even wearing them post delivery of babies these days for the same reason. I'll also mention toward the end of my love handle treatments I felt a strange horizontal 'tugging' sensation through my abdomen and around the naval but it was just a novelty not uncomfortable. The last eight minutes of the hour treatment the machine massages the area, again not uncomfortable at all. I'm not going to go into results just yet. I will get a set of photos and measurements next week and then probably 8 weeks post the next treatments although she said allow 12 weeks for full results. The cost is for two treatments of each area a month apart. The love handles together count as one and the large abdominal counts as one at this practice. Some practices count small and large. Always ask for promotional rates or rates for more than one area and rates for more than one treatment and mention you saw their info on RealSelf if that is true for a free office consultation and other specials. And read read read reviews and rates for your area before choosing your provider. 5 stars by multiple clients is always a good sign! I hope this answers some questions and alleviates some anxiety about the procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2013

It Gave Me the Motivation I Needed! - Houston, TX - Treating my lower stomach with Cool Sculpting gave me the motivation I needed to eat healthier and exercise more. I can already see some results and it has only been a week. I treated my lower stomach with 3 large applicators. It took about 3 ½ hours to complete but I brought a book to read and homework to do during the treatment. The staff made sure I felt comfortable by adjusting the seat and placing pillows where needed. There is also cable television in the room. When placing the machine on my belly, I felt a little discomfort from the pulling of my fat into the machine; this discomfort lasted only about 5 minutes. I was explained before hand that when the treatment is done I might experience numbness, soreness and bruising that could last up to 2 weeks. I have experienced all three. It has been a week since, and I am still slightly numb, sore and have light bruising but it has not at all inhibited my daily routine. I was able to go on with my daily activites like normal. I feel my experience at Clear Lake Dermatology was superior and would recommend this office for your Cool Sculpting treatment. I can’t wait to see my after photos! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2013

Love my Restylane and Dysport Injections from Dr. Joe! - Houston, TX - Since the holiday season is approaching, I decided to try Restylane injections for the first time under my eyes to reduce the hollow and sunken look that was not so appealing. I wanted to look refreshed and maintain a youthful appearance. I was nervous at first to try something new, but regret not trying it sooner after seeing the amazing results. The injections were not painful and there was minimal recovery time. I do believe that having an experienced and methodical injector is key. Again, I am kicking myself for not getting filler under my eyes years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2013

One Happy and Fully Refreshed Patient - Houston, TX - I have been going to Clear Lake Dermatology for several years now seeing Dr Joe for various issues and the occasional “liquid refresher.” I have had nothing but exceptional results and positive experiences with this family run group. With regards to the cosmetic procedures, I have been thrilled with the results, everything looks very natural and I get tons of compliments! Are there less expensive options available, perhaps BUT, when you go to Clear Lake Dermatology the injections are only done by Dr Joe which to me is huge, I wouldn’t want to save a few dollars at a medi-spa and risk my one and only face (or take a chance that I’m getting diluted product…yikes!) It's clear to me that the staff really gets bedside manners at Clear Lake Dermatology, often when I go my appointments will be very Jovial (the cosmetic procedures) but I've also seen Dr Joe and his staff exhibit extreme sensitivity and compassion when more serious concerns are raised. I overheard bits of a conversation in which a patient was being given bad news and do you know they were calling this patient not only to share the news but also to schedule surgery for the very next morning....what Drs office does that?! This is an office that genuinely cares about their patients! Dr Joe spends his time with Patients so sometimes you might encounter a wait but, you'll appreciate it when he spends the time with you. If you’re on the fence about Clear Lake Dermatology or having a “lunch time lift” I wouldn’t think twice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 28, 2013

Freezing the Fat Away - It Really Works! - Houston, TX - I had some holiday weight gain from last year and couldn't seem to get rid of the excess belly fat, even after starting up an exercise routine. I heard about the coolsculpt and thought that I would give it a try after hearing from others' personal experiences. I saw results by the end of first month without drastically changing my diet. Knowing that I had to pay for the treatment has helped me to be more conscious of what I eat and how much I workout. My clothes fit better and I look better - it's been about 4 months since the treatment. I probably will go back to get more areas done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 10, 2020

Best Derm Doc Ever - Houston, TX - Dr (Joe) A is by far the best dermatologist in town. He's honest and spends the time to explain things to you. He's not like those other Derms that are after your money. I had a skin legion on my right leg that he removed with such ease and skill. Didn't feel anything and didn't leave a mark! He's very experienced and you can tell there is a positive atmosphere in the clinic. The front office, nurses, and PAs are all very nice and friendly to their patients. I would highly recommend you to go to this doctor if your from this part of town More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.